Daily Archives: September 15, 2016

FVM

Standard

When I signed up for this race I knew what I was getting into.  Sure, plan a cross country trip and throw in a marathon for good measure while your life is falling apart around you.  Yes.  That $100 is worth it.  Money well spent.

Well… there are some things that I knew were falling apart when I planned this.  I didn’t realize all the changes that would be happening this month. I just needed something good to look forward to.

As race and travel dates approach I am feeling so stressed.  Stressed I’ll forget things, general anxiety associated with travel. Traveling back to IL for New Years was nice, Alex was there and there were very few expectations.

I feel overwhelmed at times.  I set little goals for myself.  It kind of helps.

That being aired… I am still happy to be doing this race.  The Fox Valley Marathon is the course where I learned to run, and love running, and the camaraderie that comes with it.

I loved, cried and sweat all over those trails/streets/sidewalks.  So I am eager to go back and just be there.  I have completed the FVM before.  I was not a happy camper.  I was struggling with personal issues, but I am happy to go back.

I had good intentions.  I got myself fit with a good coach, and a good plan.  All of my good intentions crashed and burned in a pity party.  I’ve let go of any goals or plans I had for this race.  Instead I just want to go and enjoy it.

 

I’m bib # 1671.  If you see me, please say hello.