Election Day 2016

Standard

It’s election day.  I’ve had my voting done for a couple weeks now.  Oregon wouldn’t accept the address I gave them and so I had to contact Utah for a mail in ballot.  I don’t mind much.  I’m just glad I got to vote.  It was a real struggle.  I didn’t know who half the people were, and I didn’t know what constitutional amendments they were talking about.  I had to do a little research to help me figure it out.

I wanted to try to vote based on issues.  I didn’t want to vote for Trump because the things he says frighten me.  I don’t want hate speech spewing out of his country.  That ended up being a no-go for me.  Hilary, well, she’s got her own set of problems.  I don’t know if she can be trusted, and while I like her, and I wanted so desperately to see a woman in the white house.  I don’t know if she’s the one.  Jill Stein and I align on most ideas.  I like her ideas, but I don’t know how it could get pulled off.  We already see what a dysfunctional congress we have.  I almost wonder if it matters who the president is anymore.  Is he more of a figure than an actual leader these days?  I don’t know.  Does it really matter who we end up voting for?  Johnson is an interesting idea.  I don’t agree with him on many things, but his sense of humor is nice.  He can make fun of himself, he is willing to test his limits and so that’s who I voted for.

 

I don’t have the answers, but there are people who do, and no one can hear them.  I think what we all need is five minutes of quiet reflection on this cycle.  We spent a lot more time than we needed yelling at each other instead of listening.  We didn’t even listen to our chosen candidates, we were too busy pointing fingers and blaming.

One think I very much enjoyed this election cycle was Austin Baird’s witty, sharp, and entertaining political posts.  Thanks Austin.

About rebeltart

.running.dogs.yoga.outdoors.reading.gotr.climbing.sleeping.mountain biking.cooking. I'm a proud runner for The @Oiselle Volee and @nuunhydration. Race ambassador for @ultraadventures and brand new Beach Body Coach!

Leave a comment